E.W. Beth Prize: 2016 call for nominations

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information) has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2015.

Who qualifies


Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st, 2015 and December 31st, 2015. Theses must be written in English; however, the Committee accepts submissions of English translations of theses originally written in other languages, and for which a PhD was awarded in the preceding two years (i.e. between January 1st, 2013 and December 31st, 2014). There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or on the university where the Ph.D. was granted.


The prize consists of:

  • a certificate
  • a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
  • an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of it) to the FoLLI
    Publications on Logic, Language and Information (Springer).

How to submit

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are required:

  1. The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).
  2. A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.
  3. A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor. Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when the degree was officially awarded.
  4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one letter from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip file) to Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt@cs.man.ac.uk). Hard copy submissions are not allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of notification within three working days, nominators should write to Ian Pratt-Hartmann.

The prize will be awarded at the ESSLLI summer school in Bolzano-Bozen.

Queries: Ian Pratt-Hartmann (ipratt@cs.man.ac.uk)

Important dates

Deadline for Submissions: May 9th, 2016.
Notification of Decision: July 18th, 2016.
ESSLLI summer school: August 15th — 26th, 2016


  • Julian Bradfield (Edinburgh)
  • Wojciech Buszkowski (Poznan)
  • Michael Kaminski (Technion, Haifa)
  • Marco Kuhlmann (Linkoping)
  • Sanjian Li (Sydney)
  • Larry Moss (Bloomington)
  • Valeria de Paiva (Nuance Communications)
  • Ian Pratt-Hartmann (chair) (Manchester)
  • Ruy de Queiroz (Recife)
  • Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary, London)
  • Rineke Verbrugge (Groningen)