E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2019: call for nominations

Since 2002, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI) has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information (http://www.folli.info/?page_id=74), with financial support of the E.W. Beth Foundation . Nominations are now invited for the best dissertation in these areas resulting in a Ph.D. degree conferred in 2018. The deadline for nominations is the 15th of April 2019.


  • A dissertation is eligible for the Beth dissertation prize 2019, if the Ph.D. degree has been conferred in Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st and December 31st, 2018.

  • There are no restrictions on the nationality, ethnicity, age, gender or employment status of the author of the nominated dissertation, nor on the university, academic department or scientific institution formally conferring the Ph.D. degree, nor on the language in which the dissertation has originally been written.
  • In accordance with the aim of the Beth Foundation to continue and extend the work of the Dutch logician Evert Willem Beth, nominations are invited of excellent dissertations on current topics in philosophical and mathematical logic, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, history of logic, history of the philosophy of science and scientific philosophy in general, as well as the current theoretical and foundational developments in information and computation, language and cognition. Dissertations with results more broadly impacting various research areas in their interdisciplinary investigations are especially solicited.
  • If a nominated dissertation has originally been written in a language other than English, its dossier should still contain the required 10 page English abstract, see below. If the committee decides that a nominated dissertation in a language other than English requires translation to English for proper evaluation, the committee can transfer its nomination to the competition in 2020. The English translation must in such cases be submitted before the deadline of the call for nominations in 2020. The committee may recommend the Beth Foundation to consider supporting such nominated dissertations for English translation, upon request by the author of the dissertation.


The prize consists of:

Nomination Dossier

Only digital submissions are accepted, without exception. The following documents are to be submitted in the nomination dossier:

  1. The original dissertation in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf etc. not acceptable).
  2. A ten-page English abstract of the dissertation, presenting the main results of each chapter.
  3. A letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor, which concisely describes the scope and
    significance of the dissertation, stating when the degree was officially conferred and the members of the Ph.D. committee. Nominations should contain the address, phone and email details of the nominator.

  4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree, nor otherwise related to the nominee (e.g. former teachers, supervisors, co-authors, publishers or relatives) or the dissertation.
  5. Self-nominations are not possible.

All pdf documents must be submitted electronically, as one zip file, to EasyChair (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=beth2019). Hard copy submissions are not allowed, without exception. In case of any problems with the submission one should contact the secretary of the committee Natasha Alechina .

The prize will be awarded by the chair of the FoLLI board at a ceremony during the 31st ESSLLI summer school in Riga, University of Latvia, August 5-16, 2019.

Beth dissertation prize committee

  • Sujata Ghosh (ISI Chennai, India)
  • Nina Gierasimczuk (DTU, Lyngby, Denmark)
  • Thomas Icard (Stanford U., US)
  • Benedikt Löwe (UvA, The Netherlands; U. of Hamburg, Germany; U. of Cambridge, UK)
  • Angelo Montanari (U. of Udine, Italy)
  • Jerry Seligman (U. of Auckland, New Zealand)
  • Wilfried Sieg (CMU, US)
  • Hans Smessaert (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Mark Steedman (U. of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Alice ter Meulen (London, UK), chair
  • Natasha Alechina (U. of Nottingham, UK), non-voting secretary.